In 2008, the Board of Directors of the Iroquois Area Business Association (IABA) launched a program to award a one-time college scholarship to a local graduating high school senior. Even though the business association recently changed their name to South Louisville Business Association, the commitment to emphasize the value of education for young people in our local area continues. It is the hope of the SLBA that an investment in the college aspirations of area students is also an investment in the local community, one that will help open the door of opportunity for the young people of South Louisville.


The SLBA Scholarship is a $500 award that must be applied towards tuition or books at a post-secondary school of the recipient’s choosing. The scholarship will be offered annually and is nonrenewable.


Qualifying students must either live in the South Louisville-area business district (see map of coverage under the About tab) or be a senior at DeSales High School, Iroquois High School, Doss High School, or duPont Manual High School. Scholarships will be awarded to well-rounded students who can demonstrate a history of success in academics and involvement in extracurricular activities, while also providing positive examples of leadership and community service. A completed application and current transcript are required for consideration for the scholarship. Also a brief (350-500 words) written essay on any topic and a letter of recommendation should accompany your application.

Previous Winners

2016 Asia Irvin (DuPont Manual High School)
Jessica Lopez-Ramos (Iroquois Hight School)

2014 Jessica Cundiff (DuPont Manual High School)

2013 Carlos Garrido (Iroquois High School)

2012 Alec Robertson (Whitefield Academy)

2011 Derek Higdon (DeSales High School)

2010 Jacob A. Kennison (DeSales High School)

2009 Michael J. Booth (DeSales High School)

2008 Karl J. Weihe (Holy Cross High School)


The 2016 deadline for the SLBA Scholarship is Tuesday, March 31, 2016. Please click here for an application (PDF format).

After all scholarship applications have been received, the Scholarship Selection Committee will meet to consider all applications. The committee may petition to interview any or all of the candidates, if deemed necessary, to facilitate its decision.

At the conclusion of the selection process, the committee will notify the applicants, in writing, of their decision. The notification process will be completed by April 30. Payment of the scholarship will be made directly to the post-secondary school indicated by the recipient.


Please direct all questions and comments to the SLBA at

2016 Scholarship Pres 2 SLBA Scholarship Prez IHS